Round Table

The list of speakers for each round table has already been proposed by its convenor(s). In round tables the convenor chairs the session and the participants discuss scholarly or professional topics of wide general interest. Round table topics are therefore geared to encouraging audience participation. Abstracts of the round tables will be published here later in 2015.

 


RT1

“Literary Journalism and Immigration: A Stranger in a Strange Land”

Co-convenors
John S. Bak, Université de Lorraine, France,
john.bak@univ-lorraine.fr
David Abrahamson, Northwestern University, IL U.S.A.,
d-abrahamson@northwestern.edu

 



RT2

“Re-defining the Contemporary in Anglo-American Fiction”

Convenor
Ana-Karina Schneider, Lucian Blaga University of Sibiu, Romania, karina.schneider@ulbsibiu.ro

 


 

RT3

“Narrative Strategies in the Reconstruction of History in the Work of Contemporary British Women Novelists”

Convenor
Ana Raquel Fernandes, University of Lisbon, Portugal, a_raquel_fernandes@yahoo.com

 



RT4

“Stories of Their Own: Gender and the Contemporary Short Story in English”

Co-convenor
Co-convenors Jorge Sacido-Romero, U Santiago de Compostela, Spain, jorge.sacido@usc.es
Michelle Ryan-Sautour, Université d’Angers, France,
michelle.ryan-sautour@univ-angers.fr

 



RT5

“Competition out of the ordinary: Roundtable on “top research” in English Studies”

Co-convenor
Janne Korkka, University of Turku, Finland,
jkorkka@utu.fi 
Elina Valovirta, University of Turku, Finland,
elmava@utu.fi

 



RT6

“The Spatial Turn”: What is Literary Geography Now?”

Co-convenor
Eleonora Rao
(Università di Salerno)
erao@unisa.it  
David Cooper
(Manchester Metropolitan University)
d.cooper@mmu.ac.uk

 



RT7

“Romantic-Era Labouring-Class Poetry: New Critical Directions”

Convenor
Franca Dellarosa,
Università degli Studi di Bari Aldo Moro,
franca.dellarosa@uniba.it

 



RT8

“The Impact of Oscar Wilde on the Cultures of Our Times.”

Co-convenor
David Charles Rose,
Independent scholar, France,
oscholars@gmail.com
Yvonne Ivory,
University of South Carolina, USA,
yivory@sc.edu
Maho Hidaka,
Kyoto Women’s University, Japan,
etoilueur7@gmail.com

 


 

RT9

“Uses of literary texts and cultural studies to expand EAP practice: breaking new ground”

Convenor
Ann Gulden,
Oslo and Akershus University College of Applied Sciences, Norway, AnnTorday.Gulden@hioa.no

 


 

RT10

“Richard Hakluyt’s The Principal Navigations…of the English Nation (1598‒1600): Historical and Geo-Political Contexts”

"Now converted to Seminar 87"

Co-convenor
Daniel Carey,
Moore Institute for the Humanities, National University of Ireland, Galway, daniel.carey@nuigalway.ie
Claire Jowitt,
University of Southampton, United Kingdom,
c.jowitt@soton.ac.uk

 


 

RT11

“Creating a European Anglicists' Gender Studies Network”

Co-convenor
Renate Haas,
University of Kiel, Germany,
haas@anglistik.uni-kiel.de
Işil Baş, Boğaziçi University of Istanbul, Turkey,
isil@boun.edu.tr
María Socorro
Suárez Lafuente, Universidad de Oviedo, Spain,
lafuente@uniovi.es


 

RT12

“Shakespeare in the Second Language Classroom”

Co-convenor
Delilah Bermudez Brataas,
Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Norway,
delilah.brataas@ntnu.no

For queries on Proposals for Round Tables, please contact: esseabstracts2016@gmail.com